Month: February 2014

  • Waiting for Godot (I mean, Alan)

    At least, Alan USUALLY shows up (for a Scrabble match).  Sometimes he calls late to regretfully cancel.  I think one time he might have even forgotten, but I'm not sure.

    Anyway.  I'm waiting.  So I'll post something.

    Haven't been to this site in a while.  Long story.  But, as usual, I've been busy.  In case anyone's been wondering, Barbara and I are still happy and healthy, and as always, busy.

    I just spent about five minutes labeling about 10 comments as "spam."  I guess I have to do that just to let REAL readers see the latest comments, without scrolling a million pages.

    Damn, I miss the old Xanga.

    In other news, I've been reading today's Op-Ed page from the Times, plus some articles from last Sunday's Review section that I hadn't had time to peruse, and they all are so depressing.

    Suppression of dissent in Russia.  What it's like to be in solitary confinement (from the point of view of the executive director of the Colorado Department of Corrections).  Stifling any shred of intelligent expression from academia (Review section article that I can't find or I'd tell you the author) -- just one depressing article after another, and now all of a sudden my fingers are acting arthritic and it's hard to type.

    Damn!  Is this a dislocated finger or what?  Seems to be getting better, but -- I think I'll sign off for now.

    I'll feel better once the Scrabble starts.  (Alan STILL not here.)

    Have to crate the Schnauzers when he arrives, and put our two visitors (Harvey and Guido) in the backyard.  Then after Alan's in the house, unloose the hounds.  or is that loose the hounds?