April 18, 2015

  • Farewell, Yoo-Hoo

    Farewell, Yoo-Hoo

    Today's a sad day.  Yoo-Hoo is my Jack Russell - rat terrier mix that I brought home from the Humane Society in August of 1998.  It was that month that I met my wife Barbara, when I took Yoo-Hoo in to meet the vets and techs at the Village Animal Clinic.  Barbara had just moved to Vero Beach, and when on our first meeting she addressed me as Mr. Lipton, I asked her nicely to call me Bob and she said, "OK, Mr. Lipton."  The rest is history.

    Yoo-Hoo is now 19, going on 20, and I don't want her to suffer a single day of infirmity and pain.  We've been watching her, and it's time.  She'll be going to Doggie Heaven on the other side of the Rainbow Bridge, around 4 p.m. this afternoon.

    *********************

    There was a post I created on October 5, 2005.  If I have time, I'll try to repost it here.  But in the meantime, readers can use the calendar on the left side of this page to find that post.

    Ah!  Here 'tis:

     

    Five Songs That Knock Me Out

     

    Libby (Iby1014) has tagged me to list five songs that I am "currently passionate about."  I retitled the category in tribute to my friend Lionne, who uses that phrase -- "knock me out" -- in a way that, well, knocks me out.  Coincidentally, Libby tagged Lionne at the same time as she tagged me.

     

    In no particular order:

     

    "For Once in My Life."   The recording I most remember is by Tony Bennett, but Google emphasizes Stevie Wonder and Frank Sinatra.  Either my memory is whacked or Google is.  What is special about this song?  Here's the story.  There's this little Jack Russell Terrier/fox terrier mix at my house named Yoo-Hoo.  I fell in love with her during my five years of volunteering to work with the adoption dogs at our local Humane Society.  Yoo-Hoo had already flunked out of two homes.  I mean, she was adopted twice, and returned twice to the Humane Society as being incorrigible.  She had separation anxiety, and could not be left alone in a house.  She'd claw down the drapes, she'd howl till her people came home, she was impossible to live with.

     

    Because of some special talent I have, the Humane Society people asked me to work regularly with the difficult dogs.  I took personal charge of Yoo-Hoo for nine months, but every potential adopter was scared off by the stories of her previous behavior.  Finally, I couldn't stand the thought of her being put down eventually, so I took her home with me, even though I already had two dogs and two is the number of dogs I like to have.  (Ever since that day, there have been from three to five dogs in this house.  Someday it'll be two again.  I can only dream.)

     

    Anyway, I was taking Yoo-Hoo to a nursing home for a pet therapy visit.  She was in the passenger seat and that song came on the radio.  The lyrics so incredibly fit her situation.  For once in her desperately unhappy life, she had someone (me) who needed her and wouldn't desert her.  That song has knocked me out, ever since.  Yoo-Hoo is still intractable and difficult to live with, has to stay in a crate unless I'm home to supervise, and no matter how tired and busy I am, she gets her walkies twice a day.  But the love in her eyes, you have to see to appreciate.

     

    For once in my life I have someone who needs me,
    Someone I've needed so long.
    For once, unafraid, I can go where life leads me
    And somehow I know I'll be strong.

    For once I can touch what my heart used to dream of
    Long before I knew
    Someone warm like you
    Would make my dreams come true.

     

    For once in my life I won't let sorrow hurt me
    Not like it hurt me before.
    For once, I have someone I know won't desert me
    I'm not alone anymore.

    For once, I can say, this is mine, you can't take it.
    As long as I know I have love, I can make it
    For once in my life, I have someone who needs me.

     

    *********************************************

     

    "You Light Up My Life."  This has to be listed for two reasons, besides the fact that Debby Boone did such a wonderful job with it.  There's a music box on our bedstead that plays that song when you wind it up.  It was one of the first gifts I ever bought for Barbara, back when we were courting.  A glass bubble with snow that falls after you turn it upside down and back again, and a cat sitting on a throne, on the inside of the bubble.  At the base, outside the bubble, is a sleeping cat whose head is against a ball of yarn and its paws are entangled in two loose strings of the yarn.  And the second reason this song knocks me out is that it reminds me of my late wife Marvis.  One day when she was away from the house, she called home just to tell me to turn on the radio.  "Our song" was playing.

     

    So many nights, I'd sit by my window,
    Waiting for someone to sing me his song.
    So many dreams, I kept deep inside me,
    Alone in the dark, but now you've come along.

    And you light up my life,
    You give me hope, to carry on.
    You light up my days
    And fill my nights with song.

    Rollin' at sea, adrift on the waters
    Could it be finally, I'm turning for home
    Finally a chance to say, "hey, I love you."
    Never again to be all alone.

    And you light up my life,
    You give me hope, to carry on.
    You light up my days
    And fill my nights with song.

    You, you light up my life
    You give me hope to carry on
    You light up my days
    And fill my nights with song
    It can't be wrong, when it feels so right
    'cause you, you light up my life

     

    ********************************************

     

    "Slip Slidin' Away" Words & music by Paul Simon

     

    All of Simon's lyrics are amazing.  This is just one of many I can name.  What do these words mean to me?  They're about how elusive our goals are.  About how difficult it is to choose the right path.  About how after we get what we think we wanted, we realize we went down the wrong path in the first place, and have to start all over.  About how we're so afraid we'll actually achieve our goals, there might be nothing else to aim for, nothing else to aspire to, no reason to go on living.  These stanzas say all those things to me, and more.

     


    Slip slidin' away
    Slip slidin' away
    You know the nearer your destination
    The more you're slip slidin' away.

    I know a man
    He came from my home town
    He wore his passion for his woman
    Like a thorny crown
    He said "Delores,
    I live in fear
    My love for you's so overpowering
    I'm afraid that I will disappear."

    Slip slidin' away
    Slip slidin' away
    You know the nearer your destination
    The more you're slip slidin' away.

    I know a woman
    Became a wife.
    These are the very words she uses
    To describe her life.
    She said a good day
    Ain't got no rain;
    She said a bad day's when I lie in bed
    And think of things that might have been.

    Slip slidin' away
    Slip slidin' away
    You know the nearer your destination
    The more you're slip slidin' away.

    And I know a father
    Who had a son.
    He longed to tell him all the reasons
    For the things he'd done.
    He came a long way
    Just to explain.
    He kissed his boy as he lay sleeping
    Then he turned around and headed home again.

    Slip slidin' away
    Slip slidin' away
    You know the nearer your destination
    The more you're slip slidin' away.

    God only knows.
    God makes his plan.
    The information's unavailable
    To the mortal man.
    We work our jobs,
    Collect our pay,
    Believe we're gliding down the highway
    When in fact we're slip slidin' away.

    Slip slidin' away
    Slip slidin' away
    You know the nearer your destination
    The more you're slip slidin' away.

    Slip slidin' away
    You know the nearer your destination
    The more you're slip slidin' away
    Mmm...

     

    ********************************

     

    What am I up to?  Three songs?  Two left to choose?  Hell, I can't choose just one OR two from the many antiwar songs that move me.  Here's however many I feel like hunting up the lyrics for:

     

     

     

    "The Last Farewell"

     

    There's a ship lies rigged and ready in the harbor
    Tomorrow for old England she sails
    Far away from your land of endless sunshine
    To my land full of rainy skies and gales

     

    And I shall be aboard that ship tomorrow
    Though my heart is full of tears at this farewell
    For you are beautiful, and I
     have loved you dearly
    More dearly than the spoken word can tell
    For you are beautiful, and I
     have loved you dearly
    More dearly than the spoken word can tell

    I've heard there's a wicked war a-blazing
    And the taste of war I know so very well
    Even now I see the foreign flag a-raising
    Their guns on fire as we sail into hell
    I have no fear of death, it brings no sorrow
    But how bitter will be this last farewell.

    For you are beautiful, and I have loved you dearly
    More dearly than the spoken word can tell
    For you are beautiful, and I have loved you dearly
    More dearly than the spoken word can tell

    Though death and darkness gather all about me
    My ship be torn apart upon the seas
    I shall smell again the fragrance of these islands
    And the heaving waves that brought me once to thee

     

    And should I return home safe again to England
    I shall watch the English mist roll through the dale
    For you are beautiful, and I have loved you dearly
    More dearly than the spoken word can tell
    For you are beautiful, and I have loved you dearly
    More dearly than the spoken word can tell

     

    ***************************************

     

    "The White Cliffs of Dover"

     

    There'll be bluebirds over
    The white cliffs of Dover
    Tomorrow, just you wait and see
    There'll be love and laughter
    And peace ever after
    Tomorrow, when the world is free.

    The shepherd will tend his sheep
    The valley will bloom again
    And Johnny will go to sleep
    In his own little room again.

    There'll be bluebirds over
    The white cliffs of Dover
    Tomorrow, just you wait and see...!

     

    ***********

     

    And the next one you might not consider an antiwar song, but it always sounds that way to me, somehow:

     

     

     

    "Danny Boy" 

     

    Oh, Danny boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling
    From glen to glen and down the mountainside
    The summer's gone and all the roses falling,
    'tis you, 'tis you must go and I must bide.
    But come ye back when summer's in the meadow,
    Or when the valley's hushed and white with snow,
    'tis I'll be there in sunshine or in shadow,
    Oh, Danny boy, oh Danny boy, I love you so.

     
    And when you come and all the flowers are dying,
    If I am dead - as dead as I well may be -
    Ye'll come and find the place where I am lying
    And kneel and say a prayer for me;
    And I shall hear, though soft you tread above me,
    And all my grave shall warmer, sweeter be,
    And ye shall bend and tell me that you love me,
    And I shall sleep in peace until you come to me.

     

    ****************

     

    And speaking of flowers, and antiwar, there is of course:

     

    "Where Have All the Flowers Gone?"

     

    Where have all the flowers gone, long time passing?
    Where have all the flowers gone, long time ago?
    Where have all the flowers gone?
    Young girls have picked them everyone.
    Oh, when will they ever learn?
    Oh, when will they ever learn?

    Where have all the young girls gone, long time passing?
    Where have all the young girls gone, long time ago?
    Where have all the young girls gone?
    Gone for husbands everyone.
    Oh, when will they ever learn?
    Oh, when will they ever learn?

    Where have all the husbands gone, long time passing?
    Where have all the husbands gone, long time ago?
    Where have all the husbands gone?
    Gone for soldiers everyone
    Oh, when will they ever learn?
    Oh, when will they ever learn?

    Where have all the soldiers gone, long time passing?
    Where have all the soldiers gone, long time ago?
    Where have all the soldiers gone?
    Gone to graveyards, everyone.
    Oh, when will they ever learn?
    Oh, when will they ever learn?

    Where have all the graveyards gone, long time passing?
    Where have all the graveyards gone, long time ago?
    Where have all the graveyards gone?
    Gone to flowers, everyone.
    Oh, when will they ever learn?
    Oh, when will they ever learn?

    Where have all the flowers gone, long time passing?
    Where have all the flowers gone, long time ago?
    Where have all the flowers gone?
    Young girls have picked them everyone.
    Oh, when will they ever learn?
    Oh, when will they ever learn?

     

    **********************

     

    And the granddaddy of them all:

     

    "Blowin' in the Wind"

     

    How many roads must a man walk down
    Before they call him a man?
    How many seas must a white dove sail
    Before she sleeps in the sand?
    How many times must the cannon balls fly
    Before they're forever banned?

    The answer, my friend, is blowin' in the wind
    The answer is blowin' in the wind.

    How many years must a mountain exist
    Before it is washed to the sea?
    How many years can some people exist
    Before they're allowed to be free?
    How many times can a man turn his head
    And pretend that he just doesn't see?

    The answer, my friend, is blowin' in the wind
    The answer is blowin' in the wind.

    How many times must a man look up
    Before he can see the sky?
    How many ears must one man have
    Before he can hear people cry?
    How many deaths will it take till he knows
    That too many people have died?

    The answer, my friend, is blowin' in the wind
    The answer is blowin' in the wind.
    The answer is blowin' in the wind.

     

    ********************

     

    Somebody please tell me it was Bob Dylan who wrote this song, or if he didn't, who did?

     

    ********************

     

    [Thursday edit]  I forgot the rules, I think.  Am I supposed to tag somebody?  Some have tagged five, some have tagged two, I'll tag three:

     

    MyKiWhatzerface
    raguslil
    baldmike2004

Comments (9)

  • I'm so sorry that you have had to make the sad (but necessary) decision. I wish our dogs and cats lived longer but the reality is that we have to say good-bye far too often. My heart is heavy for your loss.

  • Hey, Bob!
    Thank you for e-mailing me and letting me know you were blogging again and I could get on your site to read and comment! :-) I wish I could read and comment more people's sites...but can't get on the "locked" ones. :-(

    I'm so very sorry to hear about Yoo-Hoo. :-( I know you will miss her every day. :-( Please know that I care.

    The story about Yoo-Hoo, Barbara, and you is very sweet! And the "Okay, Mr. Lipton" made me laugh. :-)

    You have great taste in music! Some of those songs make me cry because they are sad, but beautiful.

    HUGS!!! :-)

  • Those songs expresses what you feel at this moment, Bob and they do well .
    About The white cliffs of Dover I posted recently a video where we see them from France .
    In friendship
    Michel

  • I'm sorry to hear you lost your dog. They really do worm their way into your heart.
    Oh Danny Boy was a favorite song of mine for years, then I had a son named Danny and I sang it to him to put him to sleep probably a thousand times over, it is stamped forever on my memory.

  • I'm sorry about your dog. My husband and I each lost a cat last year, each within a week of our respective birthdays and it was really depressing. In early August I wrote about it if your interested I can dig up the link. The hardest part was trying to explain it to my four year old. Previously her experience with something being "dead" was a device that needed to be plugged in. :'(

  • We lost a friend, Chi Chi who had been with us for over 17 years, this winter. It was a sad day. 'Blowin' in the Wind' is one of my favorite songs. :-)

  • I had to say farewell to my Rusty, not easy. I hope you find ease for your mind. I love the songs, lyrics have special meaning for me. I find peace in music.

  • Regarding your question on my post, if you want to look at free courses online from major universities, check out this link:
    https://www.mooc-list.com/
    I think it is the best listing of course offerings by the most colleges.

  • Hi Bob! I am so sorry to hear about your Yoo-Hoo. I am sure it was not an easy decision for you . But what a neat story about the way you and Barbara met!
    I love all the songs that you have posted here, yes, each one of them.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment