November 26, 2015

  • Happy Thanksgiving

    I just wanted to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving.

    Well, also, I was wondering about my Xanga page.  My last two entries were dated Nov. 18 and Nov. 19, and up until then, the latest blog appeared on top of the page, and continued in reverse chronological order.  But for some reason, Nov. 18 has been on top, and Nov. 19 below that, in second position.  So I'm curious where this Nov.26 entry will appear.

    Another thing I was thinking of, with respect to Xanga.  For a few days, I had to log in to see the two most recent posts.  So I was wondering if Xanga had defaulted all of us into log-in access only.  But then that stopped.  I can now see the two most recent posts without having to log in.  Good.  That's what I want.  I can still invite friends to view the page.  Friends who don't have Xanga accounts.

    ****************

    So while I'm talking, I have time to talk about the job, finally.

    As you all know, I was fired on Feb. 6 by the idiots who took over security at the hospital, where I worked happily and delightedly for 11 years, and where I did a little of everything that Security did, but I kind of specialized in certain chores that nobody else wanted to do, or knew how to do,, or both.  And when management told the new contractors to leave me the hell alone, management meant what it said.  But they didn't mean it enough to do anything about it when I was unjustifiably fired.  I mean, I never lipped off or anything.

    But I will say one very nice thing about management.  Uberboss R.M. received a phone call from a management company in Atlanta, which manages at long distance one of the hospital's outbuildings.  And R.M. was asked if he could recommend someone who could be counted on to open up a building when it needed to be opened (6:30 a.m. every morning) and locked up after 6:30 p.m. every evening, and he gave them my name and phone number, and that's how I got this job.  That single building would have given me income of just $200 a month (still a lot better than nothing) but the local guy whom I report to has other buildings that need to be taken care of similarly, and while I'm not getting rich, at least I'm making about 60% of what I was making at the hospital for 24 hours of work a week as compared to 40 at the hospital.

    So I lock and unlock doors, and I pick up any garbage that has to be lying around in the parking lots and change a garbage can liner once in a while.

    Not very glamorous work, but it needs to be done and I get satisfaction out of doing a job that needs doing that a lot of people don't like doing.

    And get this:  ZERO STRESS!  I mean, I never see anyone hardly.  So no aggravations from dealing with people who might be in a bad mood.  Who's gonna yell at me, a door?

    The ironic thing is:  that's one of my strengths -- dealing with difficult people, defusing a situation.  I don't get to use that strength.

    But zero stress.  I do love that.  I love that a lot.

    Lots to be thankful for.

Comments (3)

  • So to start, this post is on top as I view them, if that helps. As for the job - a no stress position at half the hours but over half the pay sounds like a winner!

  • That comment does help, Val. For some reason, when the author (I) views the page, the Nov. 18 post is still on top, followed by Nov. 26 (this one) and Nov. 19. Good to know that others view the page the way you do.

  • I just went to your posts and saw that you had posted this one. It is supposedly on the top, for me; but I understand what you are saying. I have that problem when I am uploading pictures. All the pictures go on the top instead of new paragraphs after the text. I don't know why xanga is so screwed up.
    I am glad you are working Bob. Really glad. And so thankful that Barb is back at work and things are beginning to look North. Love you both.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment