April 9, 2016

  • Merle Haggard (1937-2016)

    I never met Merle Haggard, but he's a big part of the reason I was able to retire before the age of 50.  None of the obituaries I've read have revealed the fact that he was a generous tipper.  He often gambled at Binion's Horseshoe Club, where I worked for 16 years as a craps dealer.  Merle played blackjack, but the dealers of both games pooled their tips each night, and when Merle was in the house, we could count on earning at least $100 in tips that night.  About 3 to 5 times our average.

Comments (3)

  • I suppose it is easy to be generous when you have lots of money - then again he probably remembered when he didn't have lots and was generous because he knew the struggle!

  • At least he's remembered. that's the most any of us can ask for.

  • I heard about him on the CBS news a couple of nights back.
    Hope you both are doing well. Mohamed and Sayeed went to the practice rounds at The Masters this week. Will post some pictures soon. Love to Barb.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *