March 18, 2014

  • Good News, Bad News

    GOOD NEWS, BAD NEWS
     
    I just got back from a weekend trip to North Carolina, where I won a Scrabble tournament, against very strong opposition by the way, and it was my first tournament win in about a dozen years.  Sort of the equivalent of Tony Bennett winning a Grammy assuming he had a career decline late in life, not that I think he ever declined but maybe he did.  I'm not sure, but I may be the oldest tournament Scrabble player to finish first in a tournament.  Most 74-year-olds, and that includes me, are past their prime.
     
    Anyway, that's the good news from the Lipton household.  But when I got home, Barbara greeted me at the door late Monday afternoon with the bad news that somebody has systematically been entering our house and stealing Barbara's jewelry, piece by piece by piece.  She only discovered this fact on Saturday, and did not want to upset me with an unsettling phone call.  I'm hoping she belatedly calls the police today.  We've already begun the lock-changing process, but the sense of being violated is overwhelming.
     
    Sorry if that last paragraph is a downer.  Life has its ups and downs.  I prefer to focus on the ups, such as I still have some great and supporting Xanga friends.

Comments (5)

  • Call the police NOW! The sooner they know the sooner they can get word out to the pawn shops and find her stuff and get a lead on the thief!!
    Congratulations on the Scrabble win!! It is nice to have validation that you've still got the right stuff!

  • That is downright scary....The way crime has picked up in our area, my husband and I are under "lock down." Whether we are home, or out, the doors are kept locked, with the dead bolts included....

    Our doors are made of steel, and....There is no way, anyone can use the credit card trick, to get the doors opened.....Not enough room to slide the credit card in, to disengage the locks....

  • oops...Congratulations on the win! 74 is usually past the prime of such games....I've never been much of a player, so I wouldn't make it even into the finals, lol!!

  • Congrats Bob for your win at the scrabble tournament
    But nothing is never perfect : during this time your house was visited and Barbara's jewelry stolen. What a shock for her and for you when you came back . Yes the feeling to be violated is strong in this case.
    You have all of my support .
    In friendship
    Michel

  • Wow. That is so scary. I hope you or Barbara have already called the police. Feeling violated is a horrible feeling. :-(

    Congrats on your win at the Scrabble tournament! :-)

    (((HUGS)))

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment