September 13, 2014

  • I'll Be Seeing "Atlas Shrugged, Part 3" Today

    Atlas Shrugged, Part 3

    Sorry I'm too cheap to pay Xanga another fifty bucks for graphic privileges, but I'm still annoyed that my "lifetime premium" was canceled.   I'd love to make the type bigger, but it appears I no longer have that capability.  But thank you, Xanga, for allowing me to continue to post.

    On to "Atlas Shrugged."  Steve Almond has written a wonderful piece at salon.com -- here's the site:

     

    http://www.salon.com/2014/09/11/sean_hannity_and_glenn_beck_in_a_bizarre_ayn_rand_fever_dream/

    (Sorry, I'm having trouble showing that address to where you can highlight it and paste it into your browser.  It really is worth reading.  Maybe you can google Steve Almond/Salon, or something like that, and find it that way.)

     

    Yes, I'm sure it's going to be awful, but I have to see it.  I know the story backwards and forwards, but when you have a favorite book -- and "Atlas Shrugged" is mine -- you just want to see the characters brought to life on the big screen.  

    Too bad the production values, which were bad to begin with (Part 1 of the trilogy) and have gotten steadily worse.  Too bad they didn't find a way to let Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie do the pic.  It wouldabeen great.  I have no doubt of that.  

    But alas.  We have what we have.  I'm fairly sure, the only way to enjoy Part 3 is to go back to my age 20's-30's mindset and pretend again that I am a Ronald Reagan Republican.  I even once used to listen to Rush Limbaugh spout his nonsense.  Damn the welfare queens who milk the system out of dough by having babies and demanding they be supported by the guvvamint.

    I can do it.  I can pretend I agree with Paul Ryan.  And I intend to enjoy "Atlas Shrugged, Part 3," whose official title, I believe, is "Atlas Shrugged:  Who is John Galt" but I'm too lazy to look it up.

    Barbara and I are going to drive 30 miles south later today (the movie's not playing yet in Vero Beach and I'm afraid it's so bad that no theater will want to book it after this week) but I'm not going to twist her arm to sit through the flic with me.  The multiplex is also offering "Chef" and "The 100-Foot Journey," both of which are reported to be excellent, but I think Barbara's already seen them without me.  Unfortunately, most of the other offerings seem like sci-fi junk that Barbara won't like.  I think her best bet is to resee one of the two good films that are showing.  

     

     

     

Comments (3)

  • Perhaps they will eventually get it right. I remember seeing The Hobbit in the 1970s - it was so bad it was funny. I was crushed that such a wonderful story had been destroyed. Now there is (attempt #3) a perfectly delightful movie and all is right with the Tolkien world...

  • I saw the 100 foot journey while I was in Orlando. It was okay. I liked a previous Indian themed movie, I think it was called the Best little Marigold hotel. I hear they are making another movie with the same name.
    Have been in touch with Barbara's friend Jonathan Martin, and am talking to him every day. I was disappointed today. The two properties we liked and told him to go ahead with one or the other, were rented out... even though, as of yesterday, they were still available! He will call me back on Monday.
    I am praying something will come up.

  • Please do a review of it afterwards...let us know what you think!

    I saw Chef and enjoyed it a lot! :-)

    My Xanga sub is up this month, and I won't be renewing it. I'll just keep blogging on WP.

    HUGS and Happy Whee-kend!!! :-)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment