July 18, 2015

  • I've Stopped Looking for Work

    I've stopped looking for work.

    That's the bad news.  The good news is that I'm volunteering, on a daily basis, at the Alzheimer Parkinson Association of Indian River County.  And I'm happy as a clam.  Finally, I've stopped obsessing about the huge injustice that was done to me, and to the Indian River Medical Center, when security was outsourced to an incompetent contractor for the purpose of stinting on money so that employees could lose their jobs, patients can be cheated of decent care, and all so that the hospital executives could continue to line their pockets.

    Well, okay, it's obvious that I'm still obsessing a little bit.  But just a little bit.  Honest.  I've finally begun the process of letting go of the injustice, thanks to the immense pleasure and satisfaction that I'm getting at AlzPark.   Hmm.  I still can't publish a hyperlink.  Try going to http://www.alzpark.org/info.php for more info.  (AlzPark's home page is badly outdated.  Fixing it is one of the things I'll be able to help with.)

    I'd rather help those folks for no pay, as I'm doing, than subject myself to the kind of employee abuse I can expect at most jobs.  What I used to have at the hospital was too good to be true.  A job I loved, and a job that loved me back.  Nothing that great can last forever, even though I thought it would.

    OK, the announcement has been made.  My job search is over, and I've found a situation that I love.

     

Comments (6)

  • Who knows? They may fall in love with you and your skills and it leads to a job offer?!

  • Thank you, Bob, for alerting me via e-mail about this post! I get so busy, I don't always have time to check blogs here on Xanga!

    I'm so so SO glad you found a situation you love! I hope it will turn into a paying job! Or another job might come along because of this! :-)

    Although I have always had to work for pay, I've, also, always done volunteer work...so I am a huge advocate of volunteerism! :-)

    I think it is a huge deal when we have jobs that we love. I only ever had one job I didn't love...and actually the job was fine, it was the boss/owner who thought himself to be GOD that made the job less than loveable. :-)

    HUGS for you and Barbara!!! :-)

  • I am happy that you are enjoying this side of medical necessity in the Alzheimer Park. but I am disappointed that you didn't get any positive response from any where. How sad. I am just thinking about the various chores of home, mortgage, expenses etc that continue to haunt all of us. Will always think of you and say a prayer for your peace of mind and happiness.

    • Hi, Zakiah. Haven't had time to announce the fact that I have a job! It's not a GREAT job, but it's a job, and I feel way better in my head as well as in my pocketbook. I have to post something soon, so others will know.

  • I feel ya brother.. injustice was why I was forced to retire and for about the same reason Money at the expense of the education of todays children.. there is a cancer in this country and if you want to find it ...follow the money. I wish you all the best -Doug

    • Great hearing from you, Doug. I did finally find a job. It started Oct. 1. Not a GREAT job, but at least I'm a happily married and working man.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment