October 11, 2013

  • "Rush" -- the movie

    I've been remiss in blogging lately.

    Let's clear up one matter that is probably still disturbing my more thoughtful and concerned readers.  My wife Barbara and I love each other forever and ever, and since my last entry betrayed the sad fact that we're often at war with each other, please don't worry about us.  We've already had at least one ridiculously heated blowup (verbal, not physical, I assure you) since the one described here a couple of weeks ago.  All that is is par for the course.

    Be happy for the two other people who are not being driven crazy by their spouses.  Barbara and I belong with each other.

    As for "Rush."

    See it.  It's one of the best sports movies ever, but I don't even think of it as a sports movie, even if ESPN's Bill Simmons does.  It's a character study of two men -- Formula One racecar drivers James Hunt and Niki Lauda -- real-life rivals who dominated the sport in the mid-70s.

    The brilliant Ron Howard -- who never misses, in my opinion (the Oscar he won for "A Beautiful Mind" is just one example of his work -- directed.

    Hans Zimmer's musical score was fantastic.

    Hunt, the fast-living Brit who famously rivaled Wilt Chamberlain for "most women bedded by an athlete," and Lauda, the cerebral, hard-working Austrian driver, were polar opposites.  Barbara was audibly rooting for Hunt.  I was just as much cheering for Lauda.

    If you don't know the true story, let yourself remain in suspense until after you've seen the movie.

    In case you haven't guessed, there's a crucial automobile race near the end of the movie.

    ********************

    Other thoughts:

    While I, like most of the rest of the country, blame the Republicans for the mess we're in in Washington, why is NO ONE blaming the voters -- people who elected the likes of Ted Cruz and Michelle Bachmann to office?

    I blame the voters.

    ********************

    Back to the subject of domestic life:

    The conflict two weeks ago came about because Barbara promised to call me regarding a lunch date and then forgot.

    Interestingly, I was left hanging TODAY on the same kind of deal.  Barbara showed up at 1 p.m. (she's still house-sitting), expecting me to be ready to go with her to lunch at someone's house.  YESTERDAY, she said the invitation was ambiguous.  It would be for either lunch or dinner.  I'd find out TODAY, she said.

    Anyway, I had an ample bite for myself at noon.

    But at least I think I learned my lesson from two weeks ago, and so far no arguments have ensued.

    ***

    Back to another subject:

    Oh, yeah, these "comments" that I have to label as spam.  I GUESS I have to label them that.  But they keep multiplying.  

    What's the deal with all this spam?

    (later)

Comments (6)

  • "the first to apologize is the bravest. The first to forgive is the strongest. And the first to forget is the happiest." I'm not sure where the quote came from but I will add to it that: "The first to fix his own lunch is the fullest"

    I'm looking forward to the movie, yesterday my grandson and I watched Opie's milk money being swindled away by Sheldon...Ron Howard is an amazing man!

    I blame the voters as well as the non voters who are complaining as loud as anyone.

    I've only had a couple of the spam comments, I just report them as spam.

    Have a Great Weekend

  • I got two spam comments today. I understand there is a way to block them with a kind of outsiders-lock. I do not do this. I would rather allow my friends and family to read my blog. Besides, discarding them is very easy.

  • I haven't had any spam on the new xanga... maybe I'm just lucky. As for marital bliss - it is what the couple decides it is. So I'm happy you are happy in your conflicts!

  • A couple has ups and downs but love is patient and the life goes ahead.
    As for the spamsI I get a lot of them ,in a industrial way, sometimes four of them for two real comments With patience I delete them when they come until the spamers become tired an stop.
    Those spams often are related to the money and bourse ( stock exchanges )
    In friendship
    Michel

  • Both you and Barbara seem to be always moving, going places. It must be difficult to coordinate your schedules so some conflict is inevitable. I enjoy your movie and concert reviews. I don't go to movies and concerts much because I have trouble driving at night. If I can talk someone else into driving, I love to go. I don't get spam, but my privacy settings are stricter that yours. As far as the government fiasco...I am fed up with everyone!

  • I think when you're with the person you belong with...you can make it through anything. Keep loving each other! :-)

    I agree on blaming the voters!

    Ugh on all the spam around here!
    HUGS!!!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment