April 14, 2015

  • Job Hunting.  Music.  Golf.

    The same old same old keeps getting samer and older.  But since it's a good life, I'm not complaining.  It could be gooder -- I mean better -- if I could be gainfully employed again.  Retirement would suit me -- I'm old enough -- but being underfoot at home tends to annoy my dear wife -- and extra spending money plus the FUN of working, not to mention the feeling of being needed, being productive, having structure -- means I really do wish a bookstore will summon me already.

    Concerts.  I was at a couple over the weekend.  They were between OK and good, but not great enough to make me regret I didn't see every single stroke of Jordan Spieth's sensational win at the Masters.  First up was Friday night when we heard the visiting BBC Concert Orchestra in a performance of mostly British music -- my least favorite source of classical works.  I don't mean to offend anyone, and I do especially love Edward Elgar's pieces (of which we heard only a bit, an encore whose title I don't remember).  And I have to admit, conductor Keith Lockhart chose well.  William Walton's March Crown Imperial was a rousing opener of the second half of the program, and even more rousing was the finale, Benjamin Britten's Fugue on a Theme of Purcell, better known as "Young Person's Guide to the Orchestra."  I always love it when the percussion section is featured.  More about that later when I talk about Sunday's afternoon concert.  Oh, and I almost forgot to say.  My favorite performance from Friday night was that of pianist Charlie Albright, who was featured soloist for Ravel's Concerto in G Major.  He awesome.

    On to Sunday, when I gave up the first few hours of the Masters' TV coverage to take Barbara to an afternoon concert offered by our wonderful Space Coast Symphony Orchestra.  A fine reading of Barber's Adagio for Strings, followed by a concerto for oboe and strings composed by Kevin Puts.  Soloist was Kristin Naigus, who can be researched at www.field-of-reeds.net.  After intermission came the featured work, the Carmen Suite for Strings & Percussion, composed by Rodio Shchedrin for his wife, ballerina Maya Plisetskaya.  Fantastic imaginative coloring of sounds from instruments you don't normally hear together.  The music was familiar, but the sound was not.  Highly enjoyable and well-performed.

    Welcome to greatness, Jordan Spieth.

    What's in the future, no one knows.  Either a rivalry between Spieth and Rory McIlroy to rival the old rivalry between Arnie and Jack, or will we have a whole host of champions from young guns like Hideki Matsuyama, Rickie Fowler, Patrick Reed, and Daniel Berger (not to mention the usual suspects Keegan Bradley, Brandt Snedeker, Hunter Mahan, Adam Scott)?

    Right now, it looks as if Spieth and McIlroy are a few cuts above the others.

    Seems I segued from music to golf without warning you.  The great thing about blogging is that I can do whatever I want, without an editor breathing down my neck.

Comments (3)

  • When my retirement came I was resigned but not so happy for the reasons yoo say , Bob.
    I loved my job .
    I wish you found one soon.
    In friendship
    Michel

  • Retirement is not a bad thing. I worked many years to now enjoy mine.... of course I am easily pleased with simple things, like the moments which pass.
    No editors, except myself to please :)

  • The idea of retirement is enticing but I fear that if my husband retires too soon I may have to develop hobbies to keep him busy and out from under foot too! I hope you can find a bookstore.. have you considered elementary school libraries? Our local school hires people to assist in the library - especially reading to and being read to by the kids in the different programs (Title I, special education, ESL). Just a thought.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment