June 9, 2016

  • Oops!

    In a comment that I posted just yesterday (on the "Roots" post) I wrote this: 

    I want to post a poem by William Ellery Channing called "I Call That Mind Free." If you wanna read something great, feel free to look it up, because I don't see any free time coming up for me in the foreseeable future!

    Well, I just tried to look it up, and every version I saw was:

    A.  Different.
    B.  In awkward, stilted, 19th-century prose
    C.  Not only was each rendering different from each other, but none matched what we read in church Sunday.

    What we read in church was understandable, moving, inspiring, and reminded me so much of Muhammed Ali's significance that I wanted to post the poem as an "In Memoriam" sort of offering.

    Oh well.  I tried.  I'm still trying.

Comments (1)

  • I too looked it up and there were lots of versions. It was almost like looking at translations where everyone tries to interpret the original into the "native" language...

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *